top of page

CD/DL: SSBB Sings Ella with Alice Grace

In stock
Product Details

The second disc to be produced from our 2020 crowd funding campaign - featuring vocalist Alice Grace with SSBB. With new arrangements especialy written for Strictly Smokin' to imagine music never recorded by Ella, alongside some of her classic tracks from iconic bands, arrangers and colaborators: Duke Ellington, Bully May, Frank de Vol and more.

Featuring Michael Lamb's Strictly Smokin' Big Band with vocalist Alice Grace, an orchestra led by Bradley Creswick and guest soloist Vasilis Xenopoulos.

Track Listing

1. Why Can't You Behave
2. Lullaby of Broadway
3. I've Got Beginners Luck
4. Old Black Magic
5. Love Me Or Leave Me
6. All The Things You Are
7. I Said No
8. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
9. I Fall In Love Too Easily
10. There's A Boat That's Leaving Soon for New York

Big Band:

Vocals: Alice Grace
Saxophones: Steve Summers, Keith Robinson, Jamie Toms, Dave Kerridge, Laurie Rangecroft. Guest soloist: Vasilis Xenopoulos.
Trumpets: Gordon Marshall, Dick Stacey, Michael Lamb, Pete Tanton.
Trombones: Kieran Parnaby, Mark Ferris, Chris Gray, John Flood.

Piano: Graham Don. Guitar: Pawel Jedrzejewski. Bass: Michael Whent. Drums: Guy Swinton.


Violins: Bradley Creswick, Joanne Atherton, Becky Howell, Ed Cross, Jayne Cuggy, Zoe Hodgson, Markus Lawrenson
Viola: Chrissie Slater, Claudia Newbegin
Celli: Ele Leckie, Mark Carroll
Harp: Sarah Paterson
Oboe: Philip Cull
French Horn: Chris Senior

Engineered and mastered Liam Gaughan
Mixed Liam Gaughan & Michael Lamb
Label Jazz Sound Records JSR0012
Produced by Michael Lamb
Graphic Design by Martin Lovegrove

Save this product for later
bottom of page